Review – “Water for Elephants” by Sara Gruen


Water for Elephants Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
I really enjoyed this book. The movement from the narrative of the 90, or was it 93, year old Jacob to the 23(?) year old was very smooth and wasn’t jarring at all – as a shift of that sort can be. The love story of Jacob and Marlena, the craziness of August, and the humor intermingled with the harsh realities of the setting blend together into a riveting story.

The circus still holds a bit of mystery; it has it’s own language and culture that is fascinating. The portrait that Gruen paints of this lifestyle is very interesting and authentic. I highly recommend this book.

View all my reviews >>

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 responses to this post.

  1. You could certainly add a link to my reviews. What formatting differences are there between my reviews and yours?

    Reply

  2. Posted by joannajordan on December 23, 2009 at 9:53 pm

  3. Posted by joannajordan on December 23, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    I’ve been thinking about reading this book for a while. Perhaps you have convinced me.

    I have a blog about reading too, it has a different spin. Maybe you could guest contribute sometime? I have people post something interesting they’ve read. It can be anything — letter, flyer, clipping, mag, book etc.

    Reply

What do you think? Share it here!

