RAFT activity – Ruby Bridges


I wrote this poem during an in-service day whose focus was Reading strategies. We, the group of educators taking the class, brainstormed words A-Z related to the term “prejudice”, read a story book about the story of Ruby Bridges, and then did a RAFT (which is an anagram for FART). ‘R’=role; ‘A’=audience; ‘F’=format; ‘T’=topic. We brainstormed ideas for each part of the RAFT and then chose one from each list to use as a quick write. I chose the Role of Ruby, the Audience I didn’t really identify, Format of a poem, and the topic of loneliness, perseverance, and hope. Very little revision/editing has happened to this poem and it was written in about ten minutes or so. Let me know what you think.

I STAY

So many people around
But still all alone
Hateful words thrown
At me, at my family
At all with my skin color

I just want to learn
And have my chance in life
But I go to school covered with strife
My teacher smiles but I see
In her eyes uncertainty

I do my best to stand tall
Do my family, people, and country proud
Ignore the signs, stares, and yelling from the crowd
Joined by fear and ignorance one day
Joined by trust and love
I stay

Don’t forget to subscribe!
Click “Sign me up!” on the right to receive updates

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Terri H on January 31, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Nice! Just browsing the Ning blog and trying to figure it all out. I am teaching about this right now to my second graders. I am inspired to have them write poetry to this book as well. I love it.

    I also read your post on “bad kids cheating” and my take is this……we don’t hold them accountable at a younger age. I really have been challenged with this even in the second grade. Teachers are almost afraid to hold a kid to the words we speak. When you ask for them to work harder, they don’t. It’s a struggle. Missing recess upsets the parents, but what about the grades and work ethic? I am pulling back the reins right now and it is not easy. Kids these days do not seem to worry about doing things wrong in school. They just go with the flow. I need to be rejuvinated in the discipline department.
    terri

    Reply

What do you think? Share it here!

