Review – “Armageddon’s Children” by Terry Brooks


Armageddon's Children (Genesis of Shannara, #1) Armageddon’s Children by Terry Brooks

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
This book takes place in the world created in the books “A Knight of the Word” and “Running with the Demon” and “Angel Fire East” (I haven’t read this one yet). I did not know that when I picked it up from the library yesterday during the ‘snow’ day. I just knew that it was by Terry Brooks, who I am a fan of, and it said that it was a new series. I didn’t know it had the subtitle of “Genesis of Shannara” until I added it here. I loved the Shannara series and, now that I’m aware, can see how this would be a prequel to them. I did think it strange that there were ‘elfstones’ mentioned and immediately thought of the book in the Shannara series “The Elfstones of Shannara

I read this book in one day, 371 pages, the post-apocalyptic world that Brooks has created, and I would recommend that you read the three books I mentioned that come before this, is a masterful blend of realism, fantasy, and nightmares. It includes the right amount of action to keep you turning the pages and the right amount of dialogue and inner monologue to justify/explain the actions. The human side is very real, especially the way the world is described – ruined because of the way humans treated it and each other – adults cling to the old ways, kids form tribes and are more successful at surviving and retaining the idea of family.

View all my reviews >>

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
What do you think? Share it here!

