Review – “Alice I Have Been” by Melanie Benjamin


Alice I Have Been Alice I Have Been by Melanie Benjamin

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Historically based on the relationship of Alice Liddell and Lewis Carroll, Alice I Have Been: A Novel
, chronicles the friendship, the emergence of the story of Wonderland, the falling out of the Carroll and the Liddell family, and Alice’s path to adulthood, marriage, and old age. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel. The relationships and characters were well developed. I especially liked reading about Dodgeson (his name before published as Carroll) as a photographer (something odd there) and bumbling professor. Light and breezy on the surface this story has a shadow that runs through it that is not always banished by the light of Alice’s innocence.

Read in Sept 2009

View all my reviews >>

One response to this post.

  1. Mmmm….before you rush out and buy, check out our brief assessment of the factual accuracy of Ms B’s book

    http://carrollmyth.wordpress.com/2010/03/13/wilful-myth-blindnessi-alice-i-never-was/

    Reply

What do you think? Share it here!

