Jiffy Lube Sucks


The store # is 442 and is on Main Street in South Portland, Maine. (207) 773-4950. Larry I believe was the person I spoke with at the store.

A copy of the message I sent to Jiffy Lube corporate:

I brought my wife’s car in for an oil change today [July 23, 2010] and encountered some terrible customer service. I was checked in by Larry (I believe this name is right) and he showed me the cabin air filters and said that they could be replaced for thirty dollars for the pair. I agreed and went back to the waiting area. I was called up to pay given the total of  $77.19 which was higher than I expected but I know that there are fees and taxes so I paid. My invoice was given to me AFTER I paid, I got into my car and inspected the receipt. The filters were on there for $39.99. I went back and said to Larry,
“You had said these were 30 for the pair”
He said ‘Yeah I said 39.99 for the pair.”
I replied “No, you said 30 for the pair.” this repeats a couple times until:
He told me “I’ve been doing this for a number of years I said 39.99”
I told him that I had been speaking and listening for a number of years and heard him say 30. He was very condescending and obviously tried to first ignore me and repeat what he wanted me to think he said (Yeah I said 39.99 for the pair) and then to make it sound ludicrous that he could have made a mistake.
Needless to say I, nor any of my family will be back. I will be relating this story on all of the social media sites I am a part of and emailing my contact list the story. There are cheaper, faster places to get my oil changed that treat their customers the right way – like they pay the bills. I only went to Jiffy Lube because I knew they vacuumed the car out and I was willing to pay  more (about $15 more than Prompto)  this one time so that I didn’t have to.

I brought my wife’s car in for an oil change today and encountered some terrible customer service. I was checked in by Larry (I believe this name is right) and he showed me the cabin air filters and said that they could be replaced for thirty dollars for the pair. I agreed and went back to the waiting area. I was called up to pay given the total of  $77.19 which was higher than I expected but I know that there are fees and taxes so I paid. My invoice was given to me AFTER I paid, I got into my car and inspected the receipt. The filters were on there for $39.99. I went back and said to Larry, “You had said these were 30 for the pair” He said ‘Yeah I said 39.99 for the pair.”I replied “No, you said 30 for the pair.” this repeats a couple times until: He told me “I’ve been doing this for a number of years I said 39.99″I told him that I had been speaking and listening for a number of years and heard him say 30. He was very condescending and obviously tried to first ignore me and repeat what he wanted me to think he said (Yeah I said 39.99 for the pair) and then to make it sound ludicrous that he could have made a mistake. Needless to say I, nor any of my family will be back. I will be relating this story on all of the social media sites I am a part of and emailing my contact list the story. There are cheaper, faster places to get my oil changed that treat their customers the right way – like they pay the bills. I only went to Jiffy Lube because I knew they vacuumed the car out and I was willing to pay  more (about $15 more than Prompto)  this one time so that I didn’t have to.

This would have been a different experience if Larry had just said “I’m sorry sir I misquoted the price” and either refunded the $10 or offered a discount on a future visit (to give them a chance to redeem themselves or rather himself, everyone else was very polite).

What do you think? Share it here!

