Wait – I’m how old?


Today is my birthday, yes I was born on 4th of July, and yes I get fireworks every year.

I had just gotten used to telling people I was 33 (alright I didn’t get used to it, but I didn’t have to think about how old I was before answering – wait is that a sign of old age?). It feels weird to be 34, I don’t feel like I’m in my mid-thirties. But everyone says that don’t they? Seriously though, I don’t always act like a (now) 34-year-old – I can get laughing uncontrollably (Jennie says I giggle), I still think farting is funny, I enjoy cartoons and video games, I like to eat dessert first and often, I like YA books, I like to make different hair styles when I have shampoo in – mostly the mohawk (though with the little hair I have I’m limited), and other things that I’m not going to tell you about.

Here’s what I think has kept me feeling young:

  1. Jennie, she’s my wife and best friend (she’ll be in her twenties until January so that makes me feel young) and we laugh everyday together.
  2. I hang out with 8th graders as my job for 9 months out of the year – Our sense of humor overlap (see “I think farting is funny” above).
  3. I don’t take myself too seriously (actually I try not to take most things too seriously, it can be annoying to others)
  4. That’s all I can think of right now (I’m also easily distracted)

There are some things I’m looking forward to about getting old:

  1. Yelling at kids to “Stay off my lawn” (I practice inside sometimes)
  2. Being a curmudgeon
  3. Having a good reason for being forgetful.

This afternoon we’ll go get a good spot on the Eastern Prom for all the festivities (Bob Marley is performing stand-up, Portland Symphony Orchestra is playing) where we’ll eat a sushi picnic dinner from Benkay (so delicious) and birthday cake!

Happy Fourth to you!

What do you think? Share it here!

